Just when you’ve felt like you’ve binged everything, in comes THE CHAIR! The comedy series follows Dr. Ji-Yoon Kim (Sandra Oh) as she navigates her new role as the Chair of the English department at prestigious Pembroke University. Ji-Yoon is faced with a unique set of challenges as the first woman to chair the department, and as one of the few staff members of color at the university.

The six episodes x 30 minutes comedy series will debut on Netflix Canada, August 20.

The stellar cast includes:

  • Sandra Oh as Professor Ji-Yoon Kim
  • Jay Duplass as Professor Bill Dobson
  • Holland Taylor as Professor Joan Hambling
  • Bob Balaban as Professor Elliot Rentz
  • Nana Mensah as Professor Yaz McKay
  • David Morse as Dean Paul Larson
  • Everly Carganilla as Ju-Hee “Ju Ju” Kim

Amanda Peet is writer, showrunner and executive producer. Joining Peet as executive producer are Sandra Oh, David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, Bernie Caulfield and Daniel Gray Longino. The series is directed by Daniel Gray Longino.

Here’s a sneak peek at the opening scene …